fu: Close-up of Fu, bringing a scoop of water to her mouth (Default)
fu ([staff profile] fu) wrote2011-02-07 03:24 pm

Commit attribution

Thinking about attribution. Right now, we have it so that the committer is logged as the patch author in mercurial, and the patch author is listed in the text of the commit message.

I wonder how much work it would be to have the author be in the mercurial log, and the committer noted in the text for accountability.

On the one hand, it would be easier to pull out a list of names for statistics! On the other hand, some commits need to be attributed to multiple people, and there's no way to log multiple authors for a patch other than just listing them all (which wouldn't help with statistics).

Eh, hm.
kareila: "Mom, I'm hungry." "Hush, I'm coding. You ate yesterday." (coding)

[personal profile] kareila 2011-02-07 05:51 pm (UTC)(link)
So you're wanting a list of everyone who has authored a patch, and how many patches each one has had committed? With coauthorship counting as what, half a solo patch?

I could work on that within the confines of the current system, if you like.
kareila: Rosie the Riveter "We Can Do It!" with a DW swirl (dw)

[personal profile] kareila 2011-02-09 03:23 am (UTC)(link)
This is up to 0.5.0 for dw-free:


Database loaded (71 rows found).


Summary of results:
fu                          329.5     Tue Dec 15 03:51:32 2009 +0000
mark                        294.5     Tue Dec 15 02:16:33 2009 +0000
ninetydegrees                34.5     Sun Dec 13 17:48:17 2009 +0000
branchandroot                17.5     Sun Dec 13 17:48:17 2009 +0000
jadelennox                     15     Sun Dec 13 11:49:04 2009 +0000
exor674                        93     Sun Dec 13 09:57:28 2009 +0000
wyntarvox                   63.16     Fri Dec 11 15:48:55 2009 +0000
zvi                           5.5     Fri Dec 11 15:48:55 2009 +0000
denise                     246.83     Fri Dec 11 14:23:58 2009 +0000
yvi                          63.5     Mon Dec 07 05:33:50 2009 +0000
gchick                         10     Mon Dec 07 05:10:29 2009 +0000
kareila                    190.33     Thu Dec 03 05:44:45 2009 +0000
ysobel                       21.5     Thu Dec 03 04:17:12 2009 +0000
allen                          29     Tue Dec 01 17:26:48 2009 +0000
dancing_serpent              1.33     Mon Nov 30 16:58:40 2009 +0000
juliet                         13     Sat Nov 28 10:53:02 2009 +0000
pauamma                      65.5     Wed Nov 25 05:19:00 2009 +0000
daven                         0.5     Sat Nov 21 16:40:05 2009 -0600
ambrya                       0.83     Sat Nov 21 16:30:14 2009 -0600
cesy                        10.33     Sat Nov 21 16:16:46 2009 -0600
yati                         1.33     Thu Nov 19 16:36:36 2009 +0000
malionette                   0.83     Thu Nov 19 15:52:49 2009 +0000
forthwritten                  0.5     Sun Nov 08 17:49:55 2009 +0000
cimorene                      0.5     Sun Nov 08 15:32:22 2009 +0000
janinedog                     128     Mon Oct 26 03:56:27 2009 +0000
rat                             5     Mon Oct 26 03:27:15 2009 +0000
sophie                       28.5     Mon Oct 26 02:47:57 2009 +0000
meowth                          2     Sun Oct 25 04:31:04 2009 +0000
piranha                      19.5     Thu Oct 22 14:00:00 2009 +0000
twtd                         1.16     Thu Oct 22 14:00:00 2009 +0000
foxfirefey                     29     Wed Oct 21 19:07:36 2009 +0000
szabgab                        32     Wed Oct 21 18:37:02 2009 +0000
turlough                      0.5     Wed Oct 21 17:58:27 2009 +0000
wizard101                     0.5     Sun Oct 11 16:47:58 2009 +0000
renoir                       0.83     Sun Oct 11 15:31:24 2009 +0000
novalis                         1     Mon Oct 05 15:48:52 2009 -0500
chemicallace                    3     Fri Sep 11 20:41:41 2009 -0500
rb                           0.33     Sun Sep 06 17:01:07 2009 +0000
av8rmike                     31.5     Sat Aug 29 20:02:59 2009 +0000
draigwen                       13     Thu Aug 13 18:38:11 2009 -0500
carynb                          2     Tue Aug 11 17:49:34 2009 +0000
kfk2                            3     Mon Aug 10 03:05:03 2009 +0000
badgerbag                       1     Sun Aug 09 07:58:04 2009 +0000
wychwood                        5     Sat Aug 08 15:16:42 2009 +0000
kaisa                           4     Fri Aug 07 09:42:53 2009 -0500
superluminal                    1     Wed Aug 05 15:48:33 2009 +0000
snakeling                       3     Sun Jul 26 21:13:32 2009 +0000
rich                          0.5     Sat Jul 25 02:42:39 2009 +0000
alierak                         7     Tue Jul 21 23:08:22 2009 -0500
laitaine                        4     Mon Jun 29 15:30:51 2009 +0000
rho                            22     Mon Jun 29 15:18:47 2009 +0000
liv                             8     Sun Jun 28 09:44:31 2009 +0000
hotlevel4                       6     Thu May 07 06:55:22 2009 +0000
aveleh                      17.66     Wed May 06 19:00:08 2009 +0000
stacey                        0.5     Thu Apr 30 21:27:50 2009 +0000
lily                            1     Thu Apr 30 18:35:43 2009 +0000
dani_the_girl                6.33     Mon Apr 27 17:01:05 2009 +0000
nova                         1.83     Sun Apr 26 23:51:26 2009 +0800
anotherdream                    2     Tue Apr 21 05:37:35 2009 +0000
brownbetty                      2     Sun Apr 19 09:03:24 2009 +0000
wiring                        2.5     Wed Apr 15 05:42:36 2009 +0000
ursamajor                       2     Wed Apr 15 04:44:57 2009 +0000
owl                             3     Tue Apr 14 17:34:07 2009 +0000
invisionary                     4     Thu Apr 09 17:21:45 2009 +0000
phoenix                         3     Wed Apr 08 12:06:22 2009 +0000
six                             1     Mon Apr 06 17:39:44 2009 +0000
dreamnestia                     1     Sat Apr 04 04:02:51 2009 +0000
phoenixdreaming               2.5     Sun Mar 29 05:45:09 2009 +0000
jproulx                         3     Fri Mar 06 17:26:56 2009 -0800
ryan                            1     Fri Mar 06 07:33:37 2009 +0000
idonotlikepeas                  1     Sun Feb 15 03:00:46 2009 +0000
kareila: (Default)

[personal profile] kareila 2011-02-09 03:27 am (UTC)(link)
Well I have a script helping me :)

Once I finish parsing the backlog I'll put it up somewhere.
exor674: Computer Science is my girlfriend (Default)

[personal profile] exor674 2011-02-07 08:24 pm (UTC)(link)
for the technical aspect:

hg commit --user "Andrea Nall <anall@andreanall.com>" or whatever

I think the co-author thing could be solved by doing

Co-author: xxxxx
Co-author: xxxx
Committer: xxxxx

at the very top of the log message, and that way it'd be more machine parsable.
kareila: (escherknot)

[personal profile] kareila 2011-02-07 08:36 pm (UTC)(link)
I'd prefer to keep the Bugzilla URL as the first line, and anything additional below that.